Food · Sweet

Apple & Pear Crumble

This week’s recipe is inspired by lemony.fr . When I saw her blog post about a crumble for dessert I was like “Yep that’s a good idea!”. And the fact that she used maple syrup in it really convinced me (I am addicted to maple syrup lately). Last weekend I was in the mood of baking a non dairy dessert and a crumble seemed like a good compromise. Of course there is a little bit of butter in a crumble so I can’t say it’s dairy free but it is mostly fruits. It was the first time I was doing a homemade crumble and really it is so simple that I don’t know why I have waited so long. Now that spring is in the corner I cannot wait to twist the recipe with berries. 

Ingredients:
  • 4 golden apples
  • 4 Comice pears
  • 4 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 pod of vanilla
  • 150g plain flour
  • 150g brown sugar
  • 120g butter
  1. Peel, and remove the seeds of your apples and pears. Cut them in small cubes.
  2. Put them in a big saucepan with 2 tablespoon of maple syrup on medium heat. Leave it for 2 minutes and add the vanilla pod and the rest of the maple syrup. Let it cook 5-10 minutes until soften. Preheat your oven to 180°C.
  3. In a big bowl pour the flour, sugar and cubes of butter. With your hands knead until you get a sandy texture.
  4. When your fruits are cooked place them in a baking dish. Add your crumble dough on top of it and let it cook in your oven for 30 minutes.
  5. Serve it hot with vanilla ice cream or custard cream.
One thought on “Apple & Pear Crumble

Leave a Reply

