Food · Sweet

Looking For The Perfect Pancake

Wel well well, as we all know tomorrow we are celebrating Pancake’s Day so I wanted to talk about a problem every perfectionist baker should have: the tenacity to get perfect pancakes. Internet and social media are here to remind us that the ideal pancake must be fluffy, light, round and have smooth golden sides.
As a good French girl I am a master when it comes to making perfect and tasty crêpes but I am never fully satisfied of my pancakes. So I am trying different recipes, different method but nope my eyes are still not shining when I look at my pancakes. The taste is here but not the “google images” visual. Am rubbish at making pancakes? Does it take years of practise to get it? Is there a secret I am not aware of or Internet are just photoshopping pancakes to make us things it is super easy? I don’t really have the answers to these questions but I would you to share with me your recipes, experiences with pancakes.
I will then give you all the recipes I’ve tried and with a picture to illustrate them and you will be the judge of it.

Recipe #1

Ingredients:
250g plain flour
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
3 eggs
30g butter
0,5l whole milk
1/2 tsp salt
vanilla extract
Start by mixing all the dry ingredients together and dig a hole in the middle. Melt the butter in a bowl and add the eggs. Mix them all together and pour in the dry mixture. Whisk energetically and add the milk progressively. Finish with a teaspoon of vanilla extract for the flavour. Mix well.Let your pancake mixture at room temperature for 30-45 minutes.

This is my most used recipe when I do pancakes but they are not thick.

Recipe #2 (a light version)

Ingredients:
200g plain flour

40cl milk

2 eggs

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

In a large bowl, mix the eggs, sugar, flour and the baking powder. Little at a time add the milk and mix it well. Leave at room temperature for 45 minutes.

pancakes

I quickly gave up that one because it is less tasty than the others and it doesn’t look good.

 

Recipe #3

Ingredients:
4 eggs
250g plain flour
30cl milk
1 tbsp bicarbonate of soda
4 tbsp sugar
Separate the whites and yolks of your eggs in a two different bowls. Add 4 spoons of sugar and milk in the yolks and mix it. Then add plain flour and bicarbonate of soda. Whisk your whites and add it to the mixture. Mix it until it is even.

I made this recipe for the first time this week and everything was fine I was more satisfied than usual but I don’t know why my pan didn’t want to make round shapes so they looked more like Mickey Mouse’s face than perfect circles.
Feel free to comment, share your tips, use my recipes or to give me your recipe so I can compare. I wish you all a Happy Pancake’s Day!! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Looking For The Perfect Pancake

Leave a Reply

